Tips for Longevity in the Profession by @amuseED

Name: Allison Fairey
Twitter name: @amuseED
Sector: Secondary
Subject taught (if applicable): Art +RE
Position: Teacher
What is your advice about? Tips for Longevity in the Profession

  1. Right from the start make sure teaching is indeed the gig for you. You should have gained insights into this when you began working in schools as a pre-service teacher.
  2. Be strict with yourself. Make sure you plan downtime, leisure and family time. Don’t allow workload or the job to rule you or upset that balance.
  3. Seek out ways to fuel your passion for your subject & to determine or test your success as an educator. If you are truly successful you will be satisfied & happy.
  4. Challenge yourself. Continually improve your knowlege. Experiment with what you learn through the reading of research & conversations with knowledgable colleagues & experts.
  5. Be positive & connect with colleagues who are enthusiastic. Feed off & into the energy that is created in these relationships as they will sustain you as you gain experience.
3 thoughts on “Tips for Longevity in the Profession by @amuseED

  1. Hi Allison,

    I left teaching after four years to have children – back in the day when there was no RFF or maternity leave – and I was not sorry to leave as I was tired and feeling a little bored. Eighteen years later I returned. Things were much as they’d always been when I came back in the early 2000s … but now! I am so excited about what I am doing. I plan ‘hands on’ lessons, tailored to the needs of my students. Rather than teaching curriculum I am now taking that curriculum and making it accessible to my students. As well I have people who are encouraging and inspiring me both through professional learning through social media and in face to face courses.
    I fail in your no. 2 … My family time is forced upon me but I am not great with leisure time 😏The tiredness remains because the job is demanding but the boredom has completely gone due to no.s 1,3,4 and 5 of your helpful list.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Hi Anne,
    Wow! 18 years is a long break. I taught for 8 years before starting a family and like you needed the break at that time. Family was the priority. I returned to teaching after taking 5 years to raise the family and, like you find the work satisfying and energising. Balancing the demands of both certainly keeps you on your toes.

    Like

Leave a Reply

